What is a Hague Apostille?


What do I need an apostille for and what is that?

The Apostille, also known as the Hague Apostille, is a form of authentication in international document traffic. It is used in legal relations between the countries mentioned below as an exemption from legalization of foreign public documents.

We take care of the application of an apostille by the Supreme Court of the Seychelles

It shall certify the authenticity of the signature, the capacity in which the signatory has acted and, where appropriate, the authenticity of the seal or stamp affixed to the document.

The simplification of legal transactions, which was achieved with the Hague Convention, today makes a significant contribution to the development of globalisation because it enables international legal channels to be established quickly and without bureaucracy.

The apostille is placed on public documents. Article 1 of the Convention determines which documents are to be regarded as authentic instruments, the national law of the issuing authority being applicable in each case. The apostille must be represented by a stamp (stampiglie) in the shape of a square with a side length of at least nine centimetres. It may be completed in the official language of the issuing authority. The heading "Apostille (Convention de La Haye du 5 octobre 1961)" is compulsory in French.

Should you have a Apostille need or a authenticated document/documents from a notary public in the Seychelles, we offer both in the online shop on.

These are the members of the Hague Convention for the Hague Apostille:

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Bulgaria
  • Chile
  • China (only for documents from the Hong Kong and Macao Special Administrative Regions)
  • Cook Islands
  • Costa Rica
  • Denmark (except Greenland and Faroe Islands)
  • Dominica
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Estonia
  • Eswatini
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Grenada
  • Greece
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Honduras
  • Ireland
  • Iceland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Cape Verde
  • Kazakhstan
  • Colombia
  • Croatia
  • Lesotho
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malawi
  • Malta
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Namibia
  • New Zealand (without Tokelau)
  • Nicaragua
  • Netherlands (also for Aruba, Curacao, Sint Maarten and the Caribbean region, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba)
  • Niue
  • Northern Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Austria
  • Panama
  • Peru
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Russian Federation
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • South Africa
  • South Korea (Republic of Korea)
  • Suriname
  • Swaziland (see Eswatini)
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Czech Republic
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • Hungary
  • Uruguay
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela
  • United States
  • United Kingdom (also for Anguilla, Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Guernsey, Isle of Man, Jersey, British Virgin Islands, Montserrat, Saint Helena, Turks and Caicos Islands)
  • Cyprus

How helpful was the information on this page?

Click on the stars to rate this!

We are sorry that the contribution was not helpful for you!

Let us improve this contribution!

How can we improve this contribution?

en_GBEnglish (UK)